The Gosses go Paleo…week 3

We’re done with three weeks of the Paleo diet!  I found some really amazing recipes this week….enjoy.

Stuff You Could Eat Even if You’re Not Doing Paleo

  • Crockpot beef stew – Paleo enthusiasts all over the world argue over whether potatoes are allowed on the Paleo diet.  I decided that they are allowed on my Paleo diet.
  • The green chile from week 1 – this stuff is so delicious.  It doesn’t have a roux, which is slightly weird…and the peppers are not roasted, which is also slightly weird.  But it’s easy and amazingly tasty.
  • Buffalo chicken casserole – who would have guessed that Frank’s Red Hot is Paleo approved?!  I needed something that tasted non-Paleo.  This seriously did the trick.  Also, spaghetti squash is weirdly filling.
  • Sausage gravy stuffed squash – okay, three things about this recipe.  First, just use butternut squash (WTH is delicata squash anyway?).  Second, arrowroot powder is amazingly good at thickening gravy…like, better than regular flour.  Third, this was awesome.
  • Sweet potato nachos – yes, I will make this when we’re off Paleo.  And yes, I will add cheese.
  • Fudgy brownies – there is no way you could eat one of these and guess that it’s dairy and processed sugar free.  These are heavenly.

Stuff You Probably Wouldn’t Eat Unless You’re Doing Paleo

  • Eggs

Just kidding.  But really, I am sooooooo tired of eating eggs for breakfast.  Thanks to my one year old who still nurses like a newborn, I really need substantial meals like 10 times a day, which is why I’ve eaten eggs for breakfast every day on this Paleo diet.  I miss being able to do something like oatmeal and peanut butter, quesadillas, granola and yogurt, or bean burritos.  If any of you out there have a suggestion for a Paleo approved breakfast without eggs that is filling, send it my way.

Grant’s thoughts for this week: it’s becoming a lot more normal.  He says that if he doesn’t think about it, he doesn’t miss bread.  He also says he feels really good after all of his meals.  But he says it’s hard to eat with other people.  He went on a work trip this week and watched his friend eat a chicken fried steak while he snacked on fruit and beef jerky (I keep yelling at him, “You could have ordered fajitas!”).  And since it’s hard to eat with other people, it’s kind of a self-centered diet.  I mean, you can go to a restaurant with friends or go to a BBQ at a friend’s house, but you can’t eat 75% of the stuff there, and then everybody around you feels weird.

My main thought for this week was: wow, I feel a lot better.  The first two weeks were terrible.  I felt woozy, dizzy, and shaky.  I got HANGRY at least 2-3 times a day (that’s the truth, ask Grant).  My workouts were ten times more challenging.  A couple of days into week 3 all of that went away.  I don’t feel any better than normal, like many other Whole30 or Paleo enthusiasts say they do, but at least I don’t feel like total crap.

Last week I bashed Paleo enthusiasts who eat crap meat.  I still stand by what I said…but it’s only fair that I confess our meat cheats.  We have stuck to local pastured/grass-fed beef, chicken, and pork…except for the following:

  • Beef jerky
  • Eggs (yes, I consider them a meat)
  • Sandwich meat
  • Bacon (I had to treat myself somehow)

So, there you have it.  Nobody is perfect, and definitely not us.

2 thoughts on “The Gosses go Paleo…week 3

  1. loved your blog. enjoyed visiting with your folks and Eliz and Elaine and their husbands. I wish I could kiss that baby right now. Keep in touch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

